National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Enterprise Public Library
Reference Number 13000806
State Oregon
County Wallowa
Town Enterprise
Street Address 101 NE 1st Street
Multiple Property Submission Name Historic Resources of Downtown Enterprise, 1888- 1956
Status Listed 9/30/2013
Link to full file
The Enterprise Public Library meets the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP) registration requirements for Institutional Buildings under the sub-type Civic and Public Buildings established in the Multiple Property Document (MPD), Historic Resources of Downtown Enterprise, 1888-1956, under Criteria A and C. The areas of significance are Government, Education, and Architecture. Completed during the MPD historic context of Railroad, Automobile, and Timber Boom, 1908-1928, the library is locally significant under Criterion A in the area of Government for its association with the City of Enterprise, its role in the construction, and its continued financial and operational support. Also significant under the area of Education, the free public library represents the city's commitment to the education of its citizens. The building is also significant under Criterion C in the area of Architecture as a good example of a classically inspired library that retains a high degree of architectural integrity and represents the Carnegie Corporation philosophy of library design. The Period of Significance (POS) begins in 1914 with the completion of the library, and ends in 1956, the end date of the POS defined in the MPD.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria