National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Warren E. Eaton Motorless Flight Facility
Reference Number 13000778
State New York
County Chemung
Town Big Flats
Street Address 62 Soaring Hill Drive
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 9/25/2013
Link to full file
The Warren Eaton E. Motorless Flight Facility is significant under Criterion A in the areas of recreation and culture for the role it played in the development and in shaping the awareness of the sport of soaring in the region and in the United States. The site, originally selected for soaring due to its topography and wind patterns, similar to those found at the Wasserkuppe plateau in Germany (the first documented soaring site), was first used to host the fifth National Soaring Contest in 1934. The success of the soaring event resulted in Harris Hill becoming the first permanent site for the National Soaring Contests in the country. With the increased popularity of the sport in the late 1920s and early 1930s, the site underwent further improvements for both the participants and spectators, which included adding camping facilities in 1937. Also added were a glider hangar and caretakers house, both built in 1938. The construction of these buildings helped secure and validate Harris Hill as one of the countrys most sought after and utilized facilities for both competition and leisure soaring. The property is also significant under Criterion C in the area of architecture for being an outstanding and well-preserved example of 1930s historic steel-truss hangar construction.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria