National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Medgar Evers Historic District
Reference Number 13000737
State Mississippi
County Hinds
Town Jackson
Street Address Margaret Walker Alexander Street roughly west of Missouri Street and east of Miami Street
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 9/18/2013
Link to full file
The Medgar Evers Historic District is historically significant statewide as the first modern subdivision designed for middle-class blacks after World War II in Mississippi. The subdivision was developed by Winston J. Thompson, a black entrepreneur, and a majority of the houses were built by Leroy Burnett, a black builder. Many of the early residents were teachers or others engaged in professional and clerical employment that placed them in the middle class. Noted residents of the neighborhood include Medgar Evers, the Mississippi Field Secretary of the National Association of Colored People, who was assassinated in the driveway of his home, one of the signal events of the Civil Rights Movement. Author and educator Margaret Walker Alexander purchased the first home in the subdivision in 1955.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria