National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Oaklandon Historic District
Reference Number 13000724
State Indiana
County Marion
Town Lawrence
Street Address 6300 & 6400 Block of Oaklandon Road, 6400 Block Maple Street, 11716 Oshawa Street
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 9/18/2013
Areas of Significance Architecture, Transportation
Link to full file
The Oaklandon Historic District is significant under Criterion A as the most intact remnant of a small unincorporated community which has managed to retain its identity for over 150 years, despite its being enveloped and annexed by a larger city. Established to take advantage of a location along an early railroad line, Oaklandon never became a major trade center, but survived as a country town whose businesses served community residents and area farmers throughout the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The district includes representative housing from the 1890s to the 1930s, as well as two historic churches. Thus, as a collection of small-town architecture, the district meets Criterion C. Transportation improvements and the growth of nearby Indianapolis and Lawrence caused the community to loose its importance as even a center of local commerce by the second half of the 20th century, and it is now surrounded by new housing additions and strip malls. However, the Oaklandon Historic District still retains the atmosphere of a small late 19th/early 20th century community in the midst of urban sprawl.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria