National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name McCall Family Farmstead
Reference Number 13000721
State Indiana
County Daviess
Town Plainville
Street Address 4914 East 800 North
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 9/18/2013
Areas of Significance AGRICULTURE
Link to full file
The McCall Family Farmstead is eligible for the National Register of Historic Places under Criterion A for its association with the history of agriculture in Bogard Township, Daviess County, Indiana, and for its embodiment of the characteristics of an affluent farmstead. In addition to the large residence, the property contains several examples of outbuildings indicative of a major farming enterprise during the period of significance (circa 1871, the year of construction of the earliest extant building to circa 1935, the date that the McCall family constructed the last building within the historic period). Contributing resources on the property date from circa 1871 to circa 1935. This property represents an intact example of a family farm that expanded during the golden age of Indiana agriculture and then adapted to changes in regulations and the agricultural economy of the 1920s and 1930s to remain viable. 11 Although the house does exhibit some features of the ltalianate style and the outbuildings are good examples of typical agricultural buildings, the cumulative changes to the buildings do not warrant listing of the property under Criterion C.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria