National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Grace Evangelical Lutheran Church
Reference Number 13000712
State District of Columbia
County DC
Town Washington
Street Address 4300 Sixteenth Street, N.W.
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 9/18/2013
Areas of Significance RELIGION, ARCHITECTURE
Link to full file
Grace Lutheran Church, erected 1926 to 1928, is an exquisite stone church building constructed as a response to the national church movement in Washington. Designed by noted ecclesiastical architect, John William Cresswell Corbusier (1877-1928) of Corbusier & Lenski, Architects, the church is a superb example of the neo-Gothic style with a high degree of quality of craftsmanship, materials and details. Grace Lutheran Church meets Criteria A and C with Religion and Architecture as its Areas of Significance. The church meets Criterion A for the manner in which it illuminates the Lutheran denomination's response to the national church movement, and it meets Criterion C as an excellent example of Corbusier's work and as a fine example of the neo-Gothic architectural style. The Period of Significance for Grace Lutheran Church extends from 1926 to 1956, covering the period of construction of the church until completion of the parish house. Grace Lutheran Church qualifies under Criteria Consideration A, as a religious institution that derives its primary significance from its architecture and religious history.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria