National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name First Presbyterian Church of Newtown
Reference Number 13000696
State New York
County Queens
Town Elmhurst
Street Address 54-05 Seabury Street
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 9/9/2013
Areas of Significance Architecture, Social History
Link to full file
The First Presbyterian Church of Newtown is significant under National Register criteria A and C in the areas of Architecture and Social History. Completed in 1895, the church sanctuary was designed by Queens architect Frank A. Collins to fulfill the wish of the buildings donor that it be modeled on an 1873 church in Cherry Valley, New York. The imposing edifice is significant as an example of high Victorian Gothic Revival style ecclesiastic architecture executed in granite and sandstone located in the Queens neighborhood of Elmhurst. The church houses windows by noted New York City stained-glass artists Sellers & Ashley, practitioners of the opalescent style popular in the late 19th century and associated with Tiffany Studios, for whom both Benjamin Sellers and William J. Ashley also worked. The building is a rare example of a church designed by Frank A. Collins, whose career as the New York City Department of Educations deputy superintendent of buildings for Queens is credited with overseeing the construction of some fifty school buildings in the borough, and it is also one of his largest private commissions.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria