National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Mt. Woods Cemetery
Reference Number 13000685
State West Virginia
County Ohio
Town Wheeling
Street Address Mt. Wood Rd. n. of 4th
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 9/4/2013
Areas of Significance Art, Landscape Architecture
Link to full file
Mt. Woods Cemetery is locally significant and eligible for listing in the National Register of Historic Places under Criterion C: Landscape Architecture, as an excellent example of the rural cemetery movement, and under Criterion C: Art, for its collection of locally significant examples of antebellum, Victorian-era , and early to mid-20th century funerary art, design and commemoration. Since its primary significance is attained from distinctive design features, Mt. Woods Cemetery also meets Criteria Consideration A : Religious Properties, since a portion of the cemetery is owned by a religious institution, and Criteria Consideration D: Cemeteries. The period of significance begins in 1831 with its first interment when it was part of the Woods family cemetery, and ends c.1950, reflecting the period when new interments, and thus the erection of funerary art, waned significantly.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria