National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Rouse Ranch
Reference Number 13000674
State Nebraska
County Holt
Town O'Neill
Street Address 88780 495th Avenue
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 9/4/2013
Areas of Significance Settlement, Agriculture
Link to full file
The Rouse Ranch is significant at the local lever under Criterion A for its association with the Homestead Act of 1862, the greater settlement of Holt County, Nebraska, and as a prime example of the evolution of farming in this region. As a small homestead that grew into a large ranching operation, it represents the development of Holt County from lone prairie to farming and ranching operations. The ranch is representative of the settlement of the area due in large part to the influence of the Homestead Act in drawing pioneers onto the unclaimed land. Similar to most homesteaders of the time, the Rouse family found farming was not enough to sustain their operations. They were diverse in their crops and cattle, eventually starting a salvage business in later years to supplement their income. The period of significance lasts from 1879, when Alphonzo Rouse purchased the land through 1963, or 50 years from the present. This period of significance includes the construction of all the farmsteads contributing resources, the modernization to occur in the 20th century, and the alteration from purely farming and ranching to a diverse salvage and cattle business.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria