National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Fremont High School
Reference Number 13000669
State Michigan
County Newaygo
Town Fremont
Street Address 204 East Main
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 9/4/2013
Areas of Significance Education
Link to full file
Fremont High School is significant under Criterion A at the local level as Fremont's high school and as an important local community center. Constructed in 1926~27, the new high school, designed by Lansing architect Judson N. Churchill, was designed to address perennial overcrowding in Fremont's schools due to a growing population and the expansion of the high school curriculum in the early part of the twentieth century. The new high school also provided room for Newaygo County's normal school, a program that provided teachers for the county's rural one and two room schools in the face of chronic teacher shortages throughout rural Michigan. The school today incorporates two major additions. In 1961 a gymnasium/natatorium complex, designed by prolific school architects the Warren S. Holmes Company, was constructed as a stand~alone building facing in the opposite direction from the main school. In 1988, an addition connected the two buildings and provided additional classroom, office, and support space. The 1988 addition, while it is outside the period of significance, is compatible with the earlier two buildings and, due to its placement, does not detract from the ntegrity of the public-facing portions of the 1927 and 1961 buildings.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria