National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Roanoke Downtown Historic District (Boundary Increase)
Reference Number 13000647
State Virginia
County Roanoke
Town Roanoke
Street Address 300-400 block Church Ave. SW, 300-400 block Luck Ave. SW, 401 Third Street SW, 502 Fifth Street SW, 600-700 block South Jefferson Street
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 8/27/2013
Link to full file
The Roanoke Downtown Historic District Nomination Update and Boundary Adjustment, 2013, is eligible for inclusion in the National Register of Historic Places under the criteria described in the 2002 nomination - Criteria A and C with local significance in the areas of Architecture, Commerce, and Politics/Government. With this update, the district's period of significance is established as 1882 to 1961, ending with the construction of the Thomas B. Mason Building (128-5761-0088), which marked the date of the last major building constructed in downtown Roanoke prior to the City's economic downturn and the decentralization of commerce to suburban shopping centers in the early 1960s. The nomination update expands the areas of significance to include Religion and Recreation with the addition of several downtown churches (Criteria Consideration A) and the YMCA Building in the expanded boundary area. The three churches in the boundary expansion preserve the associative value of the street's name as Church A venue. The construction of the YMCA Building in 1956 marks the continued presence of the YMCA in downtown since its establishment. Other social/recreation resources are located in the original district boundaries, including the YWCA, the Masonic Lodge and the Knights of Pythias Building.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria