National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Riverland Historic District
Reference Number 13000646
State Virginia
County Roanoke Independent City
Town Roanoke
Street Address Laurel Street; Primrose Street; Whitman Street; Riverland Road; Ivy Street; Walnut Avenue; Arbutus Avenue
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 8/27/2013
Link to full file
The Riverland Historic District was developed between 1900 and 1930 by the Highland Land Company as an early residential suburb of Roanoke, Virginia. Located just south of a bend in the Roanoke River, the neighborhood arose to provide housing for working-class citizens employed by nearby industries. The development of Riverland as a residential suburb was directly associated with the rapid industrial growth that occurred in Roanoke during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The district is an intact collection of early twentieth century domestic architecture that represents a range of architectural styles and home building practices popular during this period. Of the 238 total resources, 192 (81%) are contributing and 46 (19%) are non-contributing. The Riverland Historic District is eligible for listing on the National Register under Criteria A and C with local significance in the areas of Architecture and Community Planning and Development with a period of significance of 1900, when the first residence was constructed, to 1930, when the neighborhood was over 90 percent built out and achieved its architectural character.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria