National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Melrose-Rugby Historic District
Reference Number 13000645
State Virgina
County Roanoke Independent City
Town Roanoke
Street Address Mercer Avenue NW; Rugby Boulevard NW; Grayson Avenue NW; Carroll Avenue NW; lOth Street NW; 11th Street NW; 12th Street NW; 13th Street NW; 14th StreetNW
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 8/27/2013
Link to full file
The Melrose-Rugby neighborhood was developed between 1916 and 1949 as part of an early planned residential suburb of the City of Roanoke, Virginia. The historic district represents a small portion of the subdivision developed by the Rugby Land Corporation that was annexed by the City of Roanoke between 1925 and 1949. The district also includes several lots located along 14th Street SW that were developed by the Eureka Land Company. Located northwest of downtown, Melrose-Rugby's development as a working-class suburb was directly associated with the growth of Roanoke during the first half of the twentieth century, the national desire for the healthier living conditions of the suburbs, and the improvements in transportation that made commuting to work affordable. Of the 141 total resources, 113 (80%) are contributing and 28 (20%) are non-contributing. The Melrose-Rugby Historic District is eligible for listing on the National Register under Criteria A and C for significance on the local level in the areas of Architecture and Community Planning, with a Period of Significance of 1916, the date the Rugby Land Corporation platted the area, to 1949 when the City of Roanoke annexed the area of the district and the Rugby Land Corporation sold its last lots to the City.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria