National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name District # 5 School
Reference Number 13000622
State Massachusetts
County Worcester
Town Shrewsbury
Street Address 2 Old Mill Road
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 8/27/2013
Link to full file
The District# 5 School is significant under National Register Criteria A and C at the local level. It is the oldest surviving schoolhouse in Shrewsbury. It is also among the oldest and best preserved one-room schools in Massachusetts. During the 19th century, nearly all of Shrewsbury's schools occupied one-room schoolhouses; yet, with the exception of the 1828 District# 5 School and the 1858 District# 2 School, none are known to exist intact today. Shrewsbury's ca.l830 Brick School (District# 1 School), opposite the common in the town center, is nearly as old as the District# 5 School. A much larger building, with a meeting hall on the second floor, it did not take the typical one-room schoolhouse form. Other Shrewsbury one-room schools have been converted to new uses, which typically have required additions and alterations, both exterior and interior, or have been moved to other locations and subsequently altered. In many cases, former schools were simply dismantled for reuse in the construction of other buildings. Similar alteration or dismantling has been the fate of most one-room schoolhouses in other Massachusetts towns, too, making the good state of preservation of this school building somewhat unusual.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria