National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Eads Community Church
Reference Number 13000606
State Colorado
County Kiowa
Town Eads
Street Address 110 East 11th Street (northwest corner E. 11th and Hickman streets)
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 8/20/2013
Link to full file
Eads Community Church is significant under Criterion C in the area of Architecture at a local level of significance, as an example of a Jacobean Revival-style ecclesiastical building designed and erected over the course of 30 years that reflects the design efforts of two well-regarded architects (William Stickney of Pueblo, 1923, and John James Wallace of Colorado Springs, 1951 ). The building is further distinguished by its exceptional, highly artistic brick masonry, which enlivens and ornaments the walls and represents the leadership and skill of master local mason John B. Hostetter and volunteer workers. The church is important as Kiowa County's oldest , largest, and best-preserved religious building. The church is also significant under Criterion A in the area of Social History, at a local level of significance, as a building integral to the social life of Eads, which began as a community effort and received widespread community support. The building hosted a wide array of the community's civic and recreational events from completion of the basement component of the building in 1923 and until many of these uses transferred to the Eads School Gymnasium built in 1929.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria