National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Round Island Passage Light
Reference Number 13000583
State Michigan
County Mackinac
Town Mackinac Island
Street Address Round Island Passage Channel
Multiple Property Submission Name Light Stations of the United States
Status Listed 8/7/2013
Areas of Significance Maritime History, Transportation, Engineering
Link to full file
The Round Island Passage Light is significant in the local history of Mackinac County, Michigan and is eligible for listing in the National Register of Historic Places under Criteria A and C. It is significant under Criterion A for its association with Federal efforts to provide for an integrated system of navigational aids throughout the United States. This property also qualifies for National Register listing under Criterion C because it embodies and exemplifies distinctive aspects of architectural design and engineering characteristic of steel tower lighthouses built on crib and pier foundations in the Great Lakes circa the middle twentieth century. The Round Island Passage Light's period of significance begins in 1948 when it was established as a Federal aid to navigation and ends in 1963, the most recent year of its operation 50 years before the present. This property retains integrity in terms of location, setting, design, materials, workmanship, association, and feeling. It is a well-known and widely recognized Mackinac County historical landmark.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria