National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Lincoln-Grant School
Reference Number 13000562
State Kentucky
County Kenton
Town Covington
Street Address 824 Greenup Street
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 7/29/2013
Areas of Significance Education
Link to full file
The Lincoln Grant School (KE-C-454) is historically significant and meets National Register Criteria A for its association with African American education in Covington, Kenucky. The property's significance is evaluated within the historic context, African American Education in Kenton County, Kentucky, 1918-1961. It may also be eligible for listing under Criteria C, for its Art Deco styling, a design by A. C. Landberg, but that second basis is not the subject of this nomination. The design of the building made it a state-of-the-art educational facility during the years of separate but equal education for blacks and whites. Lincoln-Grant was not representative of the normal quality seen in schools built for blacks during the years of segregated education, however. It is one of few facilities in all of Kentucky that attempted to match the quality found in contemporary urban school for whites. The Period of Significance runs from 1931, when the school was constructed, through 1966, when integrated schooling was implemented locally.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria