National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Women's Twentieth Century Club of Eagle Rock
Reference Number 13000551
State California
County Los Angeles
Town Los Angeles
Street Address 5105 Hermosa Avenue
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 7/30/2013
Areas of Significance Architecture, Social History
Link to full file
Women's Twentieth Century Clubhouse (WTCC) is a rare and excellent example of Craftsman architecture designed for small institutional use in an early 20th century suburb of Los Angeles. Its intact character-defining features (low horizontal massing, extensive use of wood and brick, interior-exterior flow , open plan, large windows and French doors, decorative fireplace, auditorium and stage) give the property a very high level of integrity, resulting in its significance under Criteria C (Embodies the distinctive characteristics of a type, period or method of construction, or represents the work of a master, or possesses high artistic values). As important as its architectural significance is the organization's century of leadership in the development of the Eagle Rock community and in exemplifying the role of the women's movement in America at the local level , thereby meeting the criteria for listing under Criteria A (Associated with events that have made a significant contribution to the broad patterns of our history). Known for its philanthropic activity and its attention to women's education and political development, WTCC embodies the progressive goals of architecture and civic activity in the early 20th century.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria