National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Hoover Company Historic District
Reference Number 13000538
State Ohio
County Stark
Town North Canton
Street Address 101 East Maple Street
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 7/24/2013
Link to full file
The Hoover Company Historic District is being nominated under Criterion A: in the area of Commerce, Industry and Invention. In 1908 James Murray Spangler invented the first upright vacuum, naming it the Electric Suction Sweeper. He sold his patent to his in-law William Henry Boss Hoover who was a leather-goods manufacturer in New Berlin, Ohio (present day North Canton). On August 8, 1908, the Electric Sweeper Suction Company was formed, later to be renamed the Hoover Company. Hoover advertised the product in the December5th issue of the Saturday Evening Post, offering customers 10 days free use of his vacuum. At years end 1908, the company had sold 372 Model O's. The Hoover Company Resale Plan of Operation and other marketing and sales strategies were imperative to the company's early success. Boss Hoover also established a research and development department in 1909 which provided the company with numerous patents and improved products that maintained the company as an industry leader. Hoover inventions and innovations included such items as Positive Agitation, the first cylinder cleaner, the clean air principle, rubberized hose and convenience features like a headlamp, automatic height adjustments, self-mounted hose, and disposable bags.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria