National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Brooks Family Farm
Reference Number 13000529
State Georgia
County Banks
Town Lula
Street Address 584 Silver Shoals Road
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 7/23/2013
Areas of Significance Architecture, Agriculture
Link to full file
The Brooks Family Farm is significant at the local level under National Register Criterion A in the area of agriculture because its main house, outbuildings, cultivated fields, and wood lots represent late 19th- and early 20th -century agricultural practices in northeast Georgia, as identified in the statewide agricultural context Tilling the Earth: Georgia's Historic Agricultural Heritage, A Context. The farm is significant at the local level under National Register Criterion C in architecture because the main house is an outstanding example of an 1-house. The 1-house was popular because its balanced, symmetrical fa9ade appealed to an increasing interest in classicism and because the 1-house came to be viewed by farmers as a symbol of economic attainment. Most 1-houses in Georgia were built between 1790 and 1850. The Brooks outbuildings are excellent examples of domestic and agricultural outbuildings that reflect the period of diversified farming from the late 19th -century to the 1930s. The period of significance begins in 1873, when the Brooks house was completed, and ends in 1963, the end of the historic period because the property continues serve as the Brooks family farm.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria