National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Dripping Springs Downtown Historic District
Reference Number 13000504
State Texas
County Hays
Town Dripping Springs
Street Address 100-500 blocks Mercer Street; 100 block Wallace Street; 100 block San Marcos Street 101-103 Old Fitzhugh Road; 101 College Street
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 7/17/2013
Areas of Significance Architecture, Community Planning and Development
Link to full file
The small Hays County city of Dripping Springs lies at the eastern edge of the Texas Hill Country, about twenty-five miles west of the state capital at Austin. Founded by a few intrepid families in the 1850s, Dripping Springs grew to be a sparsely settled community of far-flung farms and ranches along the Little Barton and Onion creeks by the outbreak of the Civil War. From scattered log homesteads, a more compact community emerged along the Austin to Fredericksburg Road, also known as Mercer Street. Though Dripping Springs offered virtually nothing in the way of hometown goods and services to early-day travelers, it was nonetheless a good way-station with its reliable source of water on the Austin to Fredericksburg road. Eventually, a small village consisting of modest frame and stone houses and stores emerged in a haphazard fashion near the springs.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria