National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Marshalltown Historic District
Reference Number 13000498
State New Jersey
County Salem
Town Mannington Township
Street Address Marshalltown Road and Roosevelt Avenue
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 7/17/2013
Link to full file
The fragmentary, vernacular landscape of Marshalltown in western Mannington Township, bordering Mannington Meadow and the Salem River, has local significance under National Register Criteria A, B, C, and D for its role in free-black community formation beginning in the 1830s, for Thomas Marshall (1803-1856), an enterprising black landowner whose name endures on the map, the Reverends Daniel James Russell Sr. and Jr., African Union Church leaders, for its surviving nineteenth and early-twentieth century African American architecture, and for two cemeteries and numerous former building sites that have the archaeological potential to shed new light on the evolution of African American culture in New Jersey. The significant resources include Marshalltown as a domestic village site, Mt. Zion A. U. M.P. Church and its cemetery, the Little Bethel A.M. E. cemetery, the Marshalltown School House, three dwellings: the William H. and Sarah J. Thomas House, the Howard and Mary C. Turner House, and the Harvey and Charlotte Brooks House, and as many as 30 other sites where a church, a lodge, and dwellings are known to have stood within the historic period.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria