National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Santa Fe Trail- Grant County Segment 1
Reference Number 13000490_redacted
State Kansas
County Grant
Town Address Restricted
Street Address Address Restricted
Multiple Property Submission Name Historic Resources of the Santa Fe Trail (2012)
Status Listed 7/17/2013
Areas of Significance Transportation, Commerce
Link to full file
The Santa Fe Trail - Grant County Segment 1 (Klein's Ruts) is nationally significant as part of the Historic Resources of the Santa Fe Trail revised multiple property nomination under Criteria A and D for its association with transportation and commerce along the Cimarron Route of the Santa Fe Trail and for its potential to yield important information about this route. Located within La Jornada, this site retains a good degree of integrity in terms of location, setting, feeling , and association required for registration. Its period of significance begins with George Sibley 's survey of the route from the Upper Crossing of the Arkansas River in 1825 and ends with the arrival of the Union Pacific Eastern Division Railroad at the town of Sheridan , Kansas in June 1868. This site materially reflects important historic events outlined in the historic contexts: International Trade on the Mexican Road, 1821-1846; The Mexican-American War and the Santa Fe Trail, 1846-1848; Expanding National Trade on the Santa Fe Trail, 1848-1861; The Effects of the Civil War on the Santa Fe Trail, 1861-1865; and The Santa Fe Trail and the Railroad, 1865-1880, as well as the Santa Fe Trail in Kansas.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria