National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Dadeville Historic District
Reference Number 13000471
State Alabama
County Tallapoosa
Town Dadeville
Street Address Lafayette St., East St., South St., S. Tallassee St., West St.
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 7/10/2013
Areas of Significance Community Planning & Development, Architecture
Link to full file
The Dadeville Historic District is significant at the local level under Criterion A for Community Planning and Development, and under Criterion C for Architecture. The period of significance begins circa 1840 and is linked to the establishment and construction of the two oldest resources within the district. The municipal cemetery (Resource# I 05, Photo #28) was established circa 1840, and the oldest building in the district (Resource #39, Photo #8) was constructed circa 1842. The period of significance extends to 1970 in order to encompass the district's full collection of architectural forms and styles from the 1950s and 1960s. In addition, several locally significant historical trends that began in the 1950s continued through the end of the 1960s, and their effects continued to be evident in the district's buildings and landscape until 1970. These trends include the establishment of businesses to serve automobile traffic, post-war industrial development, expansion of local government services, and the emergence of nearby Lake Martin as a vacation destination. After 1970, most of the commercial and residential development in the area occurred outside the historic downtown core of Dadeville.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria