National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name America Shipwreck (Canaller)
Reference Number 13000467
State Wisconsin
County Kewaunee
Town Carlton
Street Address Four miles offshore in Lake Michigan
Multiple Property Submission Name Great Lakes Shipwrecks of Wisconsin
Status Listed 7/3/2013
Link to full file
Located eight miles south southeast of Kewaunee, Kewaunee County, Wisconsin, the America lies in 120 feet of water in Lake Michigan. Constructed in 1873 and lost in 1880, the America represents a vessel class, the canaller, which traveled the longest routes of any of the Great Lakes vessels while carrying Midwestern grain to eastern markets. Little historical documentation exists on canaller construction and operation. Much of our understanding of this vessel type has come from archaeological data recovered from wreck sites like the America. The America meets the registration requirements for Criterion D at the state level for the property type sailing vessel as described in the Multiple Property Documentation Great Lakes Shipwrecks of Wisconsin (Cooper and Kriesa 1992). The America was discovered in 1977 and documented by the Wisconsin Historical Society in 2012. Due to its remote location, the America remains lightly visited by divers. The America site has produced a wealth of archaeological knowledge on canal schooner (canaller) construction and use, and it will continue to produce important archaeological data in future years.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria