National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Clark House
Reference Number 13000453
State North Dakota
County Sheridan
Town Goodrich
Street Address 322 McKinley Ave
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 6/25/2013
Areas of Significance Architecture
Link to full file
The area that is now Sheridan County has been characterized as harsh and treeless, only slightly touched by the Great Dakota Boom ofthe 1880s. Only a few settlers, primarily ranchers, came during this period. By 1890, what is now Sheridan County had no railroads or townsites. Little had changed by the time James Clark and his wife, Mae Estella Robbins, decided to homestead in what was then part of McLean County in 1899. 1 Originally, the homestead claim was for the Southeast quarter of Section 8, Township 146, Range 74 West. The Clarks moved to the area at the beginning of the Second Dakota Boom (1898-1915).


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria