National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Community of True Inspiration Residence
Reference Number 13000447
State New York
County Erie
Town West Seneca
Street Address 919 Mill Road
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 6/25/2013
Areas of Significance Social History, Architecture
Link to full file
The Community of True Inspiration residence is significant under Criterion A in the area of social history as the best surviving example of a house built by the Community of True Inspiration (the lnspirationists or Ebenezers), a Christian group that established a distinctive agricultural settlement in the town of West Seneca in 1842. Its distinctive design reflects the groups' principles of common ownership and plain living. The house's name is derived from the community that built it as housing for two families until 1864 when the entire community relocated to Iowa. It is also significant for its association with the subsequent influx of German immigrants who bought the lands vacated by the lnspirationists. The house is also significant under Criterion C and Criterion Consideration g, as a highly intact example of an Ebenezer residence, built circa 1850 that retains its distinctive early character. The building was moved a short distance (500 feet) in 1956 to its present location. It is still within the geographic area in the Town of West Seneca known as Ebenezer, the area settled by the Community of True Inspiration in the 1840s .


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria