National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Gosport Historic District
Reference Number 13000425
State Indiana
County Owen
Town Gosport
Street Address Approximately five square blocks in the center of the Town of Gosport roughly bounded by Church Street, Walnut Street, Fifth Street, and Third Street
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 6/25/2013
Areas of Significance ARCHITECTURE, COMMERCE
Link to full file
The Gosport Historic District is eligible for the National Register of Historic Places as locally signif!cant under Criteria A and C. The district represents the founding, development, and maturity of a typical Indiana small town. It also embodies the distinctive characteristics of a variety of types of commercial and residential architecture ranging from nineteenthcentury vernacular forms and stylistic influence through early-and mid-twentieth century bungalows and Neoclassicism. The period of significance is 1835-1952. The Gosport Historic District is not identified in the Owen County Interim Report (1994). However, it was identified as part of the 2009 Gosport Revitalization Plan prepared by RATIO Architects and corroborated by the Indiana SHPO. The northwest and southeast boundaries were expanded slightly to include five additional resources that historical research showed to be closely related to others in the district. The Gosport Historic District is one of three identified districts in the county-one of two with a commercial component. The other districts are the Spencer Courthouse Square Commercial District and the residential Hillside Historic District in Spencer.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria