National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Crawford-Winslow House
Reference Number 13000422
State Indiana
County Lake
Town Crown Point
Street Address 357 S. Main Street
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 6/25/2013
Areas of Significance Architecture
Link to full file
The Crawford-Winslow House, built in 1890, is eligible for the National Register of Historic Places under Criterion C because locally, it is an outstanding example of Late Victorian Queen Anne domestic architecture in the Crown Point area. The house is one of a handful of high-style Queen Anne houses in this county seat city. Local businessman Jay Crawford had the house built. Crawford owned a flour and feed mill and was also in the construction business.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria