National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Rosemark Historic District
Reference Number 13000400
State Tennessee
County Shelby
Town Rosemark
Street Address 8501-8760 Kerrville-Rosemark Road; 8519-8727, 8736 Rosemark Road
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 6/14/2013
Link to full file
The Rosemark Historic District in Shelby County, Tennessee is being nominated to the National Register of Historic Places under Criterion A for its local significance in agriculture, commerce and industry and under Criterion C for architecture. Rosemark is an intact representative example of a rural agricultural district in Shelby County. Cotton production was the driving force behind the development of the town and the resulting commercial and residential development of the community. Tied to agriculture is the industrial infrastructure represented by the cotton gin at the heart of the district. Agricultural development in Rosemark continued to evolve in the 20th century, particularly with diversification efforts in the Depression era and mechanization during the post- World War II period. The district is significant architecturally as it represents an early to mid-twentieth century rural historic district with numerous intact farmhouses and associated agricultural buildings, several intact commercial structures, and an intact gin and lint house. With major urban sprawl throughout Shelby County, this is one of the few intact rural communities remaining. The period of significance ranges from c. 1890 with the construction the first extant building in the district until 1963.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria