National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Brace Farm
Reference Number 13000356
State New York
County Herkimer
Town Meetinghouse Green
Street Address 428 Brace Road
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 6/5/2013
Areas of Significance Agriculture, Architecture, EXPLORATION/SETTLEMENT
Link to full file
The Brace farm is historically significant as a surviving assemblage of resources that chronicle the settlement, growth and development of the town of Winfield. The Brace family was among the earliest European settlers of the area, settling on the nominated farmstead in 1793. Since that date, eight generations of the same family have worked the same land, and their farmstead stands out as a representation of the fortunes of a single family over more than two centuries. For a single plot of land to make a transition from a frontier (for Europeans) to the modern era is rare and significant in its own right. The initial settlement of the Braces is reflective of the trend of New England Revolutionary War veterans settling central NY during the immediate post-war period. Adjacent to the nominated farm is Meetinghouse Green Road Cemetery, which was established alongside a 1799 Congregational Church that might have anchored a typical New England Green common-space if the Great Western Turnpike had not drawn concentrated settlement farther south in the town. The neighboring cemetery is being nominated concurrently with the Brace Farm, but under a separate context and boundary.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria