National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Independent School
Reference Number 13000332
State Oregon
County Benton
Town Philomath
Street Address 25381 SW Airport Avenue
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 5/28/2013
Areas of Significance
Link to full file
The Independent School is locally significant, and is eligible for the National Register of Historic Places under Criterion A for the significant role that it has played in the educational development of the rural Benton County community from 1919 to 1952. Several individuals from within the rural community were associated with the Independent School, both as students and teachers, during its operation. An average of 15-30 students attended the Independent School at any one point during each school year, with a range of ages and grades. A single teacher was responsible for educating the students, which was a standard method of education at this time in rural one-room schoolhouses in Oregon. The schoolhouse was a self-sustaining independent entity that was directed solely by the teacher, while students would be responsible for everyday tasks including bringing wood in to stock the wood stove that once kept the occupants of the schoolhouse warm. The experiences and education that Independent School provided for its students would leave an impact on those individuals for the rest of their lives, reinforcing the effect that the Independent School had on the education of the youth and community as a whole .


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria