National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Lyon Street School
Reference Number 13000304
State New York
County Clinton
Town Peru
Street Address Intersection of Rock Road and Lyons Road
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 5/22/2013
Areas of Significance
Link to full file
The Lyon Street School, located in Peru, Clinton County, is locally significant under Criterion Cas a largely intact example of latter nineteenth century one-room rural schoolhouse design. The building is additionally significant, under Criterion A, for its association with Peru's district school system, which continued to function into the 1 930s. The school represents an era in which education was administered on the rural district model, predicated on the use of multiple small schools spread out over a district. When centralization swept the country in the early 20th century, marking an important change in educational standards, hundreds of schools of this type were no longer necessary. The Lyon Street School offers itself as a characteristic, albeit late, example of the one-room school house type common in rural areas during the nineteenth and early twentieth century. Few changes have occurred since the school was put out of active educational service in 1938, ensuring the retention of' many original and important character defining details. The building survives largely as built with a high degree of physical integrity, and exhibits many features associated with this distinctive building type.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria