National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Reference Number 13000299
State Louisiana
County St. James
Town Vacherie
Street Address 13281 HWY 644
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 5/22/2013
Areas of Significance Architecture, Ethnic Heritage/Biack
Link to full file
Our Lady of Peace Catholic Church has local and parish wide significance under Criterion C: Design in the area of Architecture because it is the only architectural landmark in the St. James Parish community of Vacherie as well as being an architectural landmark parish wide. Additionally, it is the most notable example of the Gothic Revival architectural style in St. James Parish. The church's Gothic verticality is very expressive of its domination of the built environment in the parish. The period of significance for this case is 1893-1900, the years when construction of the church took place. Our Lady of Peace is also locally significant under Criterion A: Event in the area of Ethnic Heritage/(by both black and white members working together) and later during the Jim Crow Era. The periods of significance for this case are 1893-1908 and 1942-1956. As will be evident from the following narratives, the church was the site of some of these efforts (direct association) and remains the focus of others that were instigated by the church in the broader community. Since some of the locations of the latter no longer survive or can no longer be identified, the church is the surviving resource most directly associated with these events.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria