National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Ouachita Coca-Cola Bottling Company, Inc. / Ouachita Candy Company, Inc.
Reference Number 13000275
State Louisiana
County Ouachita Parish
Town Monroe
Street Address 215 Walnut Street, Monroe, LA
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 5/9/2013
Areas of Significance Commerce, Industry
Link to full file
The Areas of Significance for this particular building, Commerce and Industry, are far more sophisticated in nature than the simple bottling of Coca-Cola or the manufacturing of candy, each for wholesale distribution. Careful study of the changing operational programs for this building when combined with an understanding of the evolution of the commercial/industrial tide of the last century reveals a portal into the past illustrated through this building. To be precise, alterations in the essential economic characteristics of the 20th century are reflected through the history of this building in establishing physical shape and form, as well as being illustrated by frequent alterations in building program. There are no superficial adaptations portrayed here and no In Vogue issues or illustrious illustrations of architectural style; just a valid architectural interpretation of the commercial and industrial events of the last century illustrated by its physical testimony. If ever the much overused and often abused phrase of Louis Sullivan, Form Follows Function, had an appropriate fit; it is here with this building.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria