National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Salem Methodist Church
Reference Number 13000247
State North Carolina
County Macon
Town Franklin
Street Address 1201 River Road, Franklin, NC
Multiple Property Submission Name Macon County MPS
Status Listed 05/08/2013
Areas of Significance Architecture
Link to full file
Constructed in 1875, the Salem Methodist Church is the third Methodist church erected on this site since 1830 and the second oldest extant church building in Macon County. It is also the oldest extant example of a Gothic Revival style church in Macon County. Salem Methodist Church meets Criterion C of the National Register of Historic Places as an intact local vernacular example of a Gothic Revival-style church from the last quarter of the nineteenth century as seen in the area around Cullasaja and in Macon County. The church also meets Criteria Consideration A as a property historically owned by a religious entity whose primary significance is in the area of architecture.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria