National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Lenoir Downtown Historic District Boundary Increase
Reference Number 13000246
State North Carolina
County Caldwell
Town Lenoir
Street Address 915-1011 West Avenue and 122 Boundary Street, Lenoir, NC
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 05/08/2013
Areas of Significance Architecture, Commerce, Entertainment/Recreation
Link to full file
The Lenoir Downtown Historic District Boundary Increase expands the boundaries of the 2007- designated historic district to incorporate four contributing resources erected on three tax parcels encompassing 0.64 acres between 1937 and 1948. Dayvault's Drug Store, the 0. P. Lutz Furniture Company and Lutz Hosiery Mill, and the Center Theater manifest Lenoir's economic resurgence as the country recovered from the Great Depression. The 1941 Center Theater, designed by Hendersonville architect Erle G. Stillwell, is architecturally important as an excellent example of the commercial Art Moderne style in Lenoir. The commercial building at 122 Boundary Street reflects the need for new storefronts as the city grew during the post World War II era. The locally-significant Lenoir Downtown Historic District Boundary Increase meets National Register Criteria A and C in the areas of Architecture, Commerce, and Entertainment/Recreation. The boundary increase's period of significance begins in 1937 with the Dayvault's Drug Store's construction and ends in 1959, the same date as the original historic district.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria