National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Cheyenne Veterans Administration Hospital Historic District
Reference Number 13000239
State Wyoming
County Laramie
Town Cheyenne
Street Address 2360 Pershing Boulevard, Cheyenne, WY
Multiple Property Submission Name United States Second Generation Veterans Hospitals MPS
Status Listed 05/01/2013
Areas of Significance Health/Medicine, Architecture
Link to full file
The Cheyenne VA Hospital Historic District, currently known as the Cheyenne Veterans Affairs Medical Center, is significant for its association with the federal government's commitment to the health care of World War I and World War II veterans. As defined by the United States Second Generation Veterans Hospitals Multiple Property Documentation Form (MPDF), the Cheyenne VA Hospital Historic District is an excellent, intact example of a Period II general medical and surgical Second Generation Veterans Hospital. General medical and surgical hospitals are a sub-type of Second Generation Veterans Hospitals. Period II includes those veterans hospitals constructed from the late 1920s through 1950, the date of the last veterans hospital constructed utilizing the designs developed for the Second Generation Veterans Hospitals.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria