National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Fourth National Bank Building
Reference Number 13000219
State Kansas
County Sedgwick
Town Wichita
Street Address 100-110 N. Market Street, Wichita, KS
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 05/01/2013
Areas of Significance Architecture, Commerce
Link to full file
The Fourth National Bank Building, located in downtown Wichita, Kansas, was constructed in 1916 and altered in a sweeping campaign that occurred between 1951-1958. The building is significant at the local level and fulfills National Register Criterion A in the area of commerce as the corporate headquarters of an important local bank and Criterion C in the area of architecture as an important example of the Modern Movement style of architecture in the City of Wichita and the work of a notable local architectural firm, Thomas, Harris, Calvin Associates. The period of sig.nificance spans from 1951 when the expansive mid-century renovations began and continues until 1963 adhering to the National Register's 50- year guideline.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria