National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Settles Hotel
Reference Number 13000207
State Texas
County Howard
Town Big Spring
Street Address 200 E. Third Street
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 4/18/2013
Areas of Significance Architecture , Commerce
Link to full file
Local ranchers W.R. and Lillian Settles constructed the Settles Hotel in 1930 after the discovery of oil on their ranch made them very wealthy. The hotel's construction coincided with the height of the Permian Basin oil boom and the explosive growth in Big Spring's population and economy. Prominent West Texas architect David S. Castle designed the three-part vertical block building in the popular Art Deco style. At the time of its construction, the hotel was the most dominant building in the small downtown. It retains that characteristic to this day. The building is a cultural landmark for the town Big Spring and is visible for miles. The hotel maintains a good degree of integrity and, despite standing vacant for over two decades, is in the midst of a rebirth. The restoration efforts, which began in 2007, should be complete by March 2012. The Settles Hotel is nominated to the National Register of Historic Places under Criterion A for Commerce as a historically important building to the growth and commercial development of Big Spring and under Criterion C for Architecture as a good example of a three-part vertical block Art Deco building by a prominent architect, both at the local level of significance. Because the hotel operated continuously as such until the 1980s, the period of significance extends to 1962, the cutoff for the fifty year eligibility threshold.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria