National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Marshall Business Historic District
Reference Number 13000183
State Illinois
County Clark
Town Marshall
Street Address Archer Avenue and vicinity between Plum, S. 51 th, Locust, and Michigan Avenue
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 4/24/2013
Link to full file
The Marshall Business Historic District is eligible for listing in the National Register of Historic Places under Criterion A for Community Planning and Development and Criterion C for Architecture. Under Criterion A, the district is locally significant due to the development of Marshall, Illinois in conjunction with the westward expansion of the United States through transportation. This development also contributes to our understanding of a successful small community during the mid-19th to mid-20th centuries. Under Criterion C, the district is significant due to its architectural integrity. The majority of buildings reflect the ltalianate style; however, it also has examples of stylistic trends from Romanesque, Commercial, and Moderne. Most storefronts have been modified , with modifications reflective of changing architectural tastes and styles. Overall, the district retains its density and reflects the dominant styles of its period of significance. The period of significance for both Criterion A and C for the Marshall Business Historic District is 1841 to 1963. The period reflects the community's growth both in development and representative architectural styles beginning with the construction of the oldest building in the district up to the fifty year mark for the National Register of Historic Places.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria