National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Reference Number 13000164
State Florida
County Pinellas
Town St. Petersburg
Street Address 950 12th Street North, St. Petersburg, FL
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 04/16/2013
Areas of Significance ARCHITECTURE
Link to full file
The James Henry House is locally significant under Criterion C in the area of Architecture. The Tudor Revival style residence was constructed c. 1905 for settlers of St. Petersburg, James and Lydia Henry. The construction of the house opened the Euclid-St. Paul neighborhood to development. The James Henry House is a representative example of an upper, middle-class residence built during the early years of the 20th century when St. Petersburg experienced its first period of economic boom. The building reflects the evolution from principles of the Queen Anne style concerning massing and form to the eclectic Tudor Revival style. Popular from around 1880 until 1910, Both the Queen Anne and Tudor style residences are generally irregularly-shaped buildings with asymmetrical elevations and a variety of steeply pitched roof shapes. Characteristic variations involved the integration of towers, bay and cottage windows, decorative wall surfaces, including use of a closed gable, and double-hung sash windows with multiple lights in the upper sash over one light in the lower sash. Typical decorative elements included the application of patterned shingles, polychromatic patterned brickwork or stonework, decorative panels, and the use of a small entry porch.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria