National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Lakeville Manor
Reference Number 13000159
State Connecticut
County Litchfield
Town Lakeville
Street Address 12 Elm Street; 33 Sharon Road
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 4/8/2014
Link to full file
The Lakeville Manor site is significant for reflecting an effort by Connecticut's Catholic Church to strengthen its influence and identity in rural areas during a period of 19th-century growth associated with the state's rising numbers of Irish immigrants. The 1883 St. Joseph's Convent and St. Mary's Parish School, erected on a prominent site at considerable expense, was a landmark achievement for St. Mary's Parish in Lakeville. The buildings helped solidify the presence of the Catholic Church in this predominantly Protestant town with two institutions dedicat e d specifically to advancing Catholic teachings. St. Mary's Parish served a sizable regional population of Irish Catholics, most employed in Northwest Connecticut's famous ironworks. The parish's activities made an important contribution to the social history of a community being re-shaped by changing demographics in an age of industrialization; St. Mary's Parish School was particularly noteworthy as one of the first parochial schools in the region. The site's later adaptive reuse for retreats and youth camps sponsored by the Connecticut Council of Catholic Women perpetuated its association with the Catholic Church well into the 1960s.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria