National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name CAMP OSSIPEE
Reference Number 13000154
State New Hampshire
County Grafton
Town Holderness
Street Address 11 & 13 Porter Road, Holderness, NH
Multiple Property Submission Name Squam MPS
Status Listed 04/10/2013
Areas of Significance Entertainment\Recreation, Architecture
Link to full file
It is significant under Criterion A in the area of Entertainment/Recreation for its strong associations with the evolution of Squam as a destination for summer homes. The camp was established by Ellen Balch Huntington, a member of a family with early, long and influential ties to summers at Squam. It later passed to the Quincy Porter family in whose ownership it has been for the last sixty-seven years. The camp is also significant for its association with an early youth camp, Camp Aloha. Camp Ossipee is significant under Criterion C as an excellent example of a turn-of-the-twentieth-century summer camp that is virtually unaltered. The camp is one of the oldest seasonal building types at Squam-a form intended to be of low impact and thus complement the relationship between a built structure and the stunning beauty of the surrounding natural landscape. This primary property type is identified and described in the Multiple Property listing entitled Squam: The Evolution and Preservation of a Lakeside Community. Under both criteria, Camp Ossipee retains an exceptionally high level of integrity of location, design, setting, materials, workmanship, feeling and association.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria