National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Oak Hill Farm
Reference Number 13000125
State Tennessee
County Tipton and Haywood
Town Stanton
Street Address 1280 Keeling Road, Stanton, TN
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 03/27/2013
Link to full file
Settled during the 1830s, Oak Hill Farm is eligible for listing in the National Register of Historic Places under Criterion A for its significant associations with the early settlement of Tipton and Haywood counties, and for its local significance in agriculture between c. 1918 to the fifty-year marker of 1963. Not only has the district been continuously farmed since its early settlement, its present agricultural-related resources reflect significant agricultural trends of family farms during this period, including tenantry, or sharecropping, and the transformation of crops and production. Two distinct periods of agricultural development are seen at Oak Hill Farm, innovation and progressive agriculture from 1918-1940 and postwar agricultural innovation from 1941-1963. Intact agriculture-related buildings dating largely from the postwar period especially demonstrate the impact of the Plant-to-Prosper program sponsored for the Mid-South region by the Memphis Commercial Appeal and agricultural organizations in the late 1950s. The Taylor House at Oak Hill Farm is also significant under Criterion Cas an excellent example of a vernacular Federal-style I-house built in West Tennessee in 1834.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria