National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Edgewood Historic District -- Shaw Plat
Reference Number 13000120
State Rhode Island
County Providence
Town Cranston
Street Address Shaw Ave., Marion Ave., portions ofNarragansett Blvd. and Broad St., Cranston, RI
Multiple Property Submission Name Edgewood Neighborhood, Cranston, R.I. MPS
Status Listed 4/30/2013
Link to full file
The Edgewood Historic District - Shaw Plat is significant as a residential subdivision exemplifying the trends which characterized suburban development in Cranston and much of the metropolitan Providence area during the period from the Civil War to World War II. The Shaw Plat represents one of the development patterns typical for this period: the grid-plan streetcar suburb, in this case predominantly but not exclusively characterized by larger-than-average lots and single-family dwellings that were designed for both middle-class and more affluent residents. The district's social history illustrates Edgewood's emergence as one of Providence's most fashionable suburbs in the late nineteenth century, and its transformation to its post-World War II role as a stable middle- and upper-income neighborhood. Architecturally, the district's 85 buildings document this process, through a range of types and styles of different periods, with many examples where design elements from different styles were mixed to suit a particular homeowner or developer's tastes. The Shaw Plat district retains substantial integrity of location, setting, design, materials, workmanship, feeling and association, and meets National Register Criterion A (Community Planning & Development) and Criterion C (Architecture).


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria