National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Gaseteria Inc.
Reference Number 13000089
State Indiana
County Marion
Town Indianapolis
Street Address 1031 E. Washington St., Indianapolis, IN
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 03/20/2013
Areas of Significance Commerce, Architecture
Link to full file
The Gaseteria, Inc. building is significant under Criterion C for its intact Art Moderne architecture and under Criterion 8 for its association with Russel S. Williams, a pioneer in the petroleum industry in Indiana. Architecturally, the building is a good representation of the style and retains a high degree of integrity on the exterior and the interior, including its original floor plan and woodwork, as well as a service desk, parquet floors, paneling and wainscoting and even light fixtures. The building was the office of Gaseteria, Inc., a company owned by Russel S. Williams, which had hundreds of gasoline stations throughout the Midwest by the mid-1950s. Williams served on the National Petroleum Council and the Individually Branded Petroleum Association of America before his early death in a plane crash in 1956.2 He was posthumously inducted into the Oil Hall of Fame in its inaugural year, along with other giants of the industry, including John D. Rockefeller and Harry F. Sinclair. 3 Though Williams was a national figure in the petroleum industry, his activities are best represented by his achievements in Indiana. Therefore, the property has statewide significance.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria