National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Jaworowski, George and Adele, House
Reference Number 13000088
State Indiana
County LaPorte
Town Duneland Beach
Street Address 3501 Lake Shore Drive
Multiple Property Submission Name John Lloyd Wright in Northwest Indiana
Status Listed 8/1/2013
Areas of Significance ARCHITECTURE
Link to full file
The Jaworowski House is eligible under National Register Criterion C. Architecturally the house represents the work of an accomplished and nationally known architect, John Lloyd Wright. It retains its architectural design features and integrity and as a significant example of the work of John Lloyd Wright, it qualifies under Criterion C. The house derives its importance under Architecture for area of significance as a unique exploratory example of the architect's work in the Prairie Style. The house is locally significant; it represents the finale of his architectural career in Indiana. The Jaworowski House has the associative and physical qualities specified in the registration requirements of the John Lloyd Wright in Northwest Indiana Multiple Properties Documentation Form.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria