National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Cathedral Historic District (Boundary Increase)
Reference Number 13000066
State Iowa
County Dubuque
Town Dubuque
Street Address Roughly bounded by 7th, Locust, 4th, Bissel, Jones, Bluff, Emmett & St. Mary's Sts, Dubuque, IA
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 03/13/2013
Areas of Significance Architecture
Link to full file
The Cathedral Historic District meets Criteria C as it represents an excellent collection of residential and institutional buildings in Dubuque's earliest extant neighborhood. Its architecture, including a range of styles and types, is significant for the years from 1850 to 1934. Buildings being added under this amendment include institutional building which contributed significantly to the development of the district as well as its architecture. Residential buildings included in the amendment represent fine examples of bungalow and craftsman style buildings. They represent the architectural influences of the district moving forward in the early 20th century, while maintaining a connection to the working class housing historically found throughout the district. The buildings once owned by religious institutions are being nominated under Criterion C and therefore meet Criteria Consideration A.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria