National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Deedon, Ed and Genevieve , Homestead
Reference Number 13000057
State Oregon
County Deschutes
Town La Pine
Street Address 15600 Deedon Road, La Pine, OR
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 03/06/2013
Link to full file
The Ed and Genevieve Deedon Homestead is eligible for listing on the National Register of Historic Places for its local significance under Criterion A, exploration and settlement, for its association with the early-twentieth century development of the Rosland/La Pine area under the Homestead Act of 1862, as amended in 1912. The property is also eligible for listing under Criterion C, architecture, for the collective architectural significance of the four contributing buildings and one contributing structure that demonstrate the utilitarian vernacular construction commonplace on homesteads in southern Deschutes County. The Deedon Homestead is a good example of the homesteads that were entered in southern Deschutes County. It is the last intact group of primitive buildings constructed by the homesteader with assistance from his family and neighbors while he was frugally meeting the requirements of the amended Homestead Act. The period of significance begins in 1914 with the construction of the two log cabins, outhouse, and well. A garage/shop/boathouse and the kitchen porch were constructed in 1915. It ends in 1925 with the addition of a bedroom onto the main building.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria